Tonka

  
Tonka was a big deal growing up. The pressed steel bodies could take the typical abuse from a boy in his dirt pile. I yearned for the backhoe tractor with front loader “tractor with four diggers” is what I’d call it. Well I got it and managed to break it . So my sister wrote to Tonkatoys in Minnesota (actually Mound MN on Lake Minnetonka) crying false advertising which stated an elephant could stand on their toy construction vehicles. 

  
So they wrote back in apology and send one of their Dump trucks in compensation. There’s customer service!

 I wonder if I could get them to send one of their Triumph Bonnevilles… 
  

Leave a Reply

